Company Updates on Glassdoor | Glassdoor
Help Center | Glassdoor

How can we help you today?

Search

Company Updates on Glassdoor

Updated 19 October, 2020

The Company Updates feature is available to any employer with a Glassdoor Free Employer Account. This feature is the easiest way to keep your profile looking up-to-date and draw potential candidates to your page. 

Get candidates excited to work for your company by sharing unique and engaging information such as the latest on company milestones, news stories, product releases, community service, etc. When you post a company update anyone who follows your company will receive an email alert which can lead to an increase in traffic and applications. You can add photos to your post and promote it to specific local profiles if your update is only relevant in specific geographies. 

 


Adding a Company Update:
  1. Go to the Employer Center.
  2. Click Employer Profile.
  3. Click the Company Updates tab.
  4. Select the category to assign your update to. 
  5. Enter text content directly into the Enter your company update description: text field.


Add a URL or hyperlink:

  1. To add a URL or Hyperlink, enter a URL into the Add a Company Update text field.
  2. Wait a few moments for the content preview to appear.
  3. Click into and edit the content as desired.
  4. Enter a message into the "Enter message here." field.
  5. Click Post

Removing a Company Update:
  1. Go to the Employer Center.
  2. Click Employer Profile.
  3. Click the Company Updates tab.
  4. Locate the company update you wish to remove.
  5. Click the three horizontal dots on the right-hand side of the company update. 
  6. Click Delete
  7. Click Delete again to Are you sure you want to delete this status?

The additional features below are available for employers who have purchased an Enhanced Profile:

  • Add a photo:
    1. Click or upload an image. under the "Insert URL" field. 
      1. Note: Photo must be smaller than 2 MB or it will not upload. It is also not recommended to add photos with text or the text may be blurry once posted. 
    2. Adjust frame, to select which portion of the image you want to display.
    3. Click Save.
    4. Your image will display in the preview, underneath the text field.
      1. Note: You can only have a single image for each update, either an image you upload from your computer or a sample image from an included URL.
    5. Once you have composed your update, click Post.
  • Add an embedded video: Company Updates now support embedded videos, allowing for a richer experience when telling your brand story.
  • Select multiple profiles: Clients with multiple paid profiles (such as .com, .co.uk, etc.) can choose to post an update across profiles, saving you valuable time.
  • Support for anchor tags in URLs: Clients can use this enhancement to quickly redirect readers to a specific section of an external site or other areas of your profile you want to showcase.
  • Get free social analytics and tracking: You can find out how effective each of your Company Updates are within your Employer Center. Here you’re able to track impressions and engagement from your profile and weekly follower email. 
    1. Go to the Employer Center.
    2. Click Analytics.
    3. Under the Employer Profile tab, select Company Update Analytics.

FAQs ​​​​​​

Can I swap out the photo you include when I post a link in my update?

User-added imageUser-added image

Yes, you will have the option to accept the photo we include based on the URL you entered, or to use your own image.

What is the maximum character count allowed in a post?

User-added imageUser-added image

1100 characters.

Are Company Updates available to everyone?

User-added imageUser-added image

Yes. However some additional features within Company Updates are only available for employers who have purchased an Enhanced Profile.

How much does it cost?

User-added imageUser-added image

It's free.

Can anyone in my company with access to the Employer Center post an update?

User-added imageUser-added image

Users with the roles Administrator and Content Manager can post an update. Users with the role Local Administrator can post updates to their local profiles.

Can I turn this feature off?

User-added imageUser-added image
  • Not directly, but you do have some control.
  • The company updates module will only appear on your profile once you start posting.
  • The module will show in a prominent position as long as you are posting on a regular basis.
  • If the frequency of updates goes down, the module will decrease in priority on the page.

The position of the Company Updates module has changed. Why?

User-added imageUser-added image

Employers must post a company update at least every 30 days or the module will decrease in priority and move down the page.

Is there a way to automate updates or plans integrate with social management tools like Hootsuite?

User-added imageUser-added image

How are impressions counted for the posts?

User-added imageUser-added image

We count an impression each time an update is displayed on the page, and then add them up to calculate total number of impressions.

Will there be the ability to comment?

User-added imageUser-added image

Not in the near future. But this is something we are considering along with a host of other features.

Can you @mention someone in an update?

User-added imageUser-added image

No, functionality such as mentioning and hash tagging are not available at this time.

I'm having issues posting and editing my Company Updates across several of my profiles.

User-added imageUser-added image

When you post a company update, next to the Post button there is a Post to drop-down menu where you can select or unselect profiles to post to. After you post, navigate to one of the profiles you posted to (using the Master LEP toggle at the top of the Employer Center) to see your preview. If you end up on a page that you did not post to, it will appear like your post did not work. 

When you bulk post to multiple profiles, once the post is live a separate update for each profile is created. If you want to edit or delete the post you will have to individually edit every post for every profile. 


 

   

Was this helpful?

Yes

  

No